1. First Place: Christina Haley Williams
  2. Second Place: Alizdair Sebastien Ray
    • 9th grade – Cumberland International Early College, Hope Mills, NC
    • Today’s Libraries
    • Three-time winner
  3. Third Place: Angelina Bayrak
  4. Fourth PlaceSam Kostiuk
    • 9th Grade – Cherryville High School
    • My Library (video)
    • Four-time winner

The grand prize winners will receive an all expense paid trip to Washington, D.C., May 6-8, 2018 to represent North Carolina libraries and meet with North Carolina’s members of Congress on Capitol Hill during National Library Legislative Day. This year’s grand prize winners were selected by a panel of seven judges representing all different types of North Carolina libraries including the State Librarian, the presidents of the North Carolina Library Association and the North Carolina School Library Media Association, faculty at UNCG, and public library directors.

Due to the high quality of the entries this year it was a very competitive process. In total, 13 library ambassadors were selected representing 7 of the 13 congressional districts in North Carolina. We are deeply appreciative of all the k-12 students who took the time to submit an entry into our program this year and your love and support for libraries will continue to help ensure they remain strong in North Carolina. All of this year’s ambassadors will also have a chance to meet with their members of Congress at their local office in North Carolina as well.

Congratulations to the full slate of NCLA 2017-2018 Student Library Ambassadors below organized by North Carolina Congressional District:

  1. Lance Williams, 7th grade – Bunn middle school (NC-02) | View Essay
  2. Christina Haley Williams, 10th grade – Garner High School (NC-04) | View Essay
  3. Shreeya More, 8th grade – Salem Middle School (NC-04) | View Essay
  4. Diya Rau, 9th grade – Athens Drive High School (NC-04) | View Essay
  5. Constance Clemons, 3rd grade, Raleigh NC (NC-04) | View Essay
  6. Courtney Gant, 9th grade – Alexander Early College (NC-05) | View Essay
  7. Alizdair Sebastien Ray, 9th grade – Cumberland International Early College (NC-09) | View Essay
  8. Adrianna Nader, 5th grade – Sun Valley Elementary (NC-09) | View Presentation
  9. Sam Kostiuk, 9th Grade – Cherryville High School (NC-09) | View Video
  10. Hayla Smith, 5th grade – Smith Academy (homeschool) (NC-11) | View Essay
  11. Angelina Bayrak, 10th grade – Lake Norman High School (NC-12) | View Essay
  12. Nivitha Mavuluri, South Iredell High School (NC-13) | View Essay
  13. Siddharth Samal, 11th grade – Lake Norman High School (NC-13) | View Essay

Here’s a slideshow of previous winners:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s